Skip navigation

While Saturday is loaded with events and whatnot (Japan Aid 5p-11p @Loft in Space for Japan *wink wink*), it is also the Hawai’i Food Bank’s Annual Food Drive. So many people struggling to make ends meet and being homeless and whatnot, people like the Food Bank try to make a difference. I personally don’t like when people beg for money on the side of the street (watch that Freeloaders news article that Jon Stossle guy did $23K panhandling and they not homeless!) because all to many times I gave the fool a dollar and I see them buying a beer instead of food. While people are encouraged to be charitable they are NOT suppose to be enablers and help people get drugs and booze when they don’t need that to make the situation better. The Food Bank makes sure nobody is hungry and hook people up that need food with food. I trust my money going to them will go to food and not beer for homeless people. My general rule is if I got extra funds and I’m not affected by the problem at hand I should help out. I’m asking you to help out and drop a buck in their baskets when you see them on the street or some can food (a good one that you would eat) to help. Brownie points work for Jesus too? All I know is I don’t need no karma ass biting me back because I already got enough things trying to slow me down. I’m thankful that I don’t have to worry about being hungry so I will help out. Please kokua. Mahalo and shaka!

2011 Hawaii Food Bank Annual Drive info

